A Cornish Adventure – Part 1

Having joined the property ladder earlier this year, funds for the next Mini Adventure were low. However, with a Mini Show in Somerset I saw the perfect opportunity. Last year I realised I had nearly visited every single National Park in the UK. This trip should tick Dartmoor and Exmoor from the list, leaving me with 2 National Parks to go!

Under the Mini Moon

I left on Friday for Burnham-on-Sea with the Mini Club, where there would be a Mini show on the Saturday. Despite over an hour sat on the A36 waiting to get into Salisbury, windscreen wipers hat wouldn’t turn off and a car that cut out every time I braked we made it! Whetherspoons for tea made everything feel better.

On the Saturday we went for a run around Somerset. Being a part of the convoy of Minis through Cheddar Gorge was amazing! We then headed back to the show for the afternoon. At the end of the show we headed to the seaside for the arcade and ice cream, before a BBQ and beers with the Mini Club.

IMG_3443

On Sunday I parted from the Mini club (after borrowing a cooker and jack) and headed to Cornwall!

Arrival in Cornwall 

I made it to Cornwall a little over 2 hours after leaving Burnham – and th wipers managed to behave themselves!

After setting up camp and having a cup of tea I headed into Bude. I walked along the canal and down to the beach, and then into town. Being nearly 5 on a Sunday, I didn’t expect to see much, forgetting that it was a seaside town in August. I had a wander around the many gift shops before heading back to the campsite for tea.

Dartmoor ticked off

For my first full day in Cornwall I decided to head into Dartmoor. I started at Lydford Gorge – make the most of my National Trust membership. It was a lovely walk and stayed dry – until I had finished and wanted to sit outside the tearoom with a cup of tea!

I then headed for the Meldon Reservoir, for a walk around the reservoir and up the river to a waterfall and weir. Here Bella decided to leave her mark on Dartmoor…

IMG_3448

Having walked miles in the rain I decided that I had sufficiently done Dartmoor and headed back to the campsite for a shower before finding a pub for tea. I headed to the New Inn in Kilkhampton where I was served the biggest Gammon steak I’d ever seen! Well deserved after a busy day 🙂

As it was a dry evening I then headed to Sandymouth beach. I walked along the beach whilst the tide headed out. After watching the sunset I realised that I was the only person on the beach!

IMG_3449

Leave a Reply

