Scotland 2016 – Day 8 – Loch Ness

A short post today as I’m having internet problems – I definitely won’t be uploading any photos!

This morning was the first day I didn’t need to set an alarm as I didn’t need to be up for breakfast.  And I made the most of this – I woke up gone 9!  After some breakfast I wandered into the local village.  There wasn’t a lot – a few houses, a school, a shop and a pub.

I decided to head over to Loch Ness and do some touristy things.  I started with the Loch Ness Exhibition Centre – which persuaded me there was no point going in search of the Loch Ness Monster!

I then headed down to Fort Augustus where the Caledonian Canal leaves Loch Ness, and I watched a few boats make their way through the series of locks.

I then headed up the East coast of Loch Ness, which is a lot more scenic than the West coast.  I stopped to do a few walks, including to see the Falls of Foyer.

I then headed back down to Fort Augustus and got some fish and chips for tea.  I had been really lucky with the weather all day (I considered taking the roof down at one point!) so sat out by the Canal with my fish and chips.  The clouds soon spotted this and glided above the Canal to pour with rain, which it has continued to do all evening!  A quick dash to the car to finish my chips and then I headed back to my Pod to plan tomorrow…

One thought on “Scotland 2016 – Day 8 – Loch Ness

  1. Gemma, so glad your trip is going well and bella going well too, nice photo of the castle glad the chap at the car park let you take a photo.
    It was great having you stay, please call again if you are ever up this way.
    Enjoy the rest of your trip.
    Hazel and David

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

