Scotland 2016 – Day 4

Day 4 was spent around Loch Lomond IMG_2116and The Trossachs National Park.  I set out this morning with a few ideas of what I would like to see – which did not include a 40 mile round trip along a single track with road with (very non-Mini friendly) passing places to end up back where I was staying.  Unfortunately, this is what happened – but who wanted to go to Balmaha anyway…

Eventually I made it to Balloch and saw Loch Lomond from Balloch Castle Country Park.  I’d recommend the Country Park – I had a lovely walk around even though it was raining!

I then headed over to Helensburgh, which is apparently where my Nan and Grandad went on their honeymoon.  Lovely little town where I actually managed to find a cash point!  Quick tip – if you need a key in Scotland head to Helensburgh – I saw 3 locksmiths in the short hour that I was there!

IMG_2106

I then headed up the A82, along the west coast of Loch Lomond.  It was a fantastic drive in the Mini, with some great views of the Loch.  With nobody in front or behind I could enjoy the drive at my own pace (well, Bella’s).  I saw a sign along the way for the Falls of Falloch so stopped off and glad I did – beautiful!

I followed the road East and then back down and stopped off at Loch Katrine where I walked around the Loch (not all the way around!) and saw the Sir Walter Scott steamship.

This evening I headed into Callander to get some tea at Mhor Fish – a fish and chip shop that I would definitely recommend.  Unfortunately it was raining so I sat in the Mini to eat my fish cake and chips, but glad I did as whilst sat there I saw 6 British Classic Cars drive by – if only I had been enjoying my chips so much I may have followed!

I’ve really enjoyed my first full day in Scotland today, and would love to stay in this area a while longer, but instead tomorrow I must head further North to see what else Scotland has to offer Bella and I.

 

One thought on “Scotland 2016 – Day 4

Leave a Reply

